Swedish-Finnish Family Looking for an Au Pair

Feb 15, 2019 by

Share Button

Swedish-Finnish Family Looking for an Au Pair

London, UK

This is us:

A friendly Swedish-Finnish family living in London. Mamma Elina is Swedish, Pappa Ari is Finnish. 7-year old Matilda and 3 year old Evelina have grown up in London and speak Swedish, English and a few words of Finnish.

We own a busy yoga studio and live Barnes, a leafy area close to river Thames. Matilda goes to the Swedish School and Evelina currently spends time in playgroups, parks, meets with other children and plays at home. She will start nursery in September. Our schedule varies from week to week and revolves around the yoga studio and children’s timetable. One of us adults often works in the evenings or weekends, and we regularly lead trainings during the weekends. You can find out more about our studio and us here: www.lumipoweryoga.com.

We have had four wonderful au pairs over the past six years and we are now looking for the next person to live life with us for a while.


This is you:

A warm, energetic and independent au pair who loves interacting with children. You have previous experience of working with children, perhaps as an au pair or in school, kindergarten, camps, playgroups or younger siblings.


This is the Role:

Average of 33 hours per week. The weekly schedule varies and we agree the schedule together for each week including any additional hours for extra pay. If you are the lovely person joining our family, you would:

  • Do school drop offs and pick-ups with Matilda on weekdays
  • Look after Evelina during day time (from September onwards she will be in nursery 9-12), taking her to parks and play groups and connecting with others for play dates
  • Taking the girls to activities after school on some days (they like ballet, tap dance, street dance…)
  • Walk, dance, cycle, scoot around with the girls – they are active!
  • Prepare meals for the girls and yourself; clear and tidy up afterwards 
  • Help out with household duties like laundry, washing up and tidying up of toys and clothes
  • Support the girls in seeing the extraordinary in the every day


This role is perfect for you if you are:

  • Interested in sports / movement, health and wellbeing – you’ll enjoy free yoga at the studio and we walk (almost) everywhere, often with a buggy!
  • Proactive and independent in your work time as well as your free time
  • Great with people – you’ll interact with a variety of different people
  • Fluent in Finnish or Swedish and with good level of English
  • Flexible with weekly schedule including occasional weekend work
  • Comfortable with preparing lunch for Evelina and changing her nappies.
  • Comfortable with participating in household duties like tidying up after children
  • Vegetarian/pescatarian (we are  – but are very welcome to prepare and eat whatever you like!)


We expect you to:

  • To be available either from mid-May 2019 or from end of August 2019 and commit to a minimum of 12 months
  • To dedicate your working time fully to au pair duties and be contactable via mobile phone
  • To organise your own travel to and from London
  • To let us know well in advance about holiday requests


This is What we Offer:

  • Own room
  • Weekly pay of £110 for 33 hours plus additional pay for extra hours, paid weekly. You will have 2-3 days off during the week.
  • Oyster card for free travel in London (reasonable use; up to £25 per week)
  • Free use of our fridge and all food in the house. Free use of common areas and other facilities – living room in particular as we never seem to have time to watch TV!
  • An experience of being part of a friendly family and an opportunity to explore London from a great location
  • Free yoga at the studio


Please apply here Swedish-Finnish Family Looking for an Au Pair